After the End (of the blog?!)

Ok, I know I have screwed up pretty badly with my blog updates. I hope to do better in the next fw months. In the meanwhile, I drop by to express my satisfaction at the launch of a new GURPS series:

http://forums.sjgames.com/showthread.php?t=141985&highlight=wastelanders

Post-Apocalypse has never been my favourite genre, but as somebody who “sort of” authored a Hokuto no Ken RPG, I thought it was only right for me to bow to my betters! Really: these are great news for GURPS, which is and has always been my favourite system. After its shift to a PDF-only model, GURPS has focused pretty heavily on the Dungeon Fantasy series: an understandable choice, given the Old School Renaissance, and one that apparently sold well. But a generic system truly shines when it tackles on a wide range of genres, and I am sure this series will highlight the many strengths of the system. In particular, with the usual dials and switches, one can easily go from a very cinematic, anime-style, “gonzo apocalypse” game to a ultra-gritty, tactical guerrilla war in the wasteland. Since we have not seen official Vehicle Design rules yet, perhaps a simplified system might be included in the series for all those P-A settings that make great use of motorized vehicles on wheels. Otherwise, though, GURPS already has what we need and more, and the new series will surely make the most of it. So, those who loved the new Mad Max last year should definitely give GURPS AtE a try!

Leave a Reply

