“You Can’t Always Get What You Want”

Last weekend I have been beaten to the punch for the greatest bargain ever: the whole Basic D&D GAZ series at 150 euros. Yeah, the conditions were not specified, but it was still one chance in a lifetime. I have always wanted those damn booklets. I will not lie about it: among the good number of gaming books that I got rid of in the late Nineties, the Gazetteers were the only ones I really miss.  They were not well translated, and it was a pretty random selection (only six of them were translated before the whole line was abandoned). But the average quality was very high, and they would have deserved more love.

I was very, very excited about putting my hands on all of them at once, no matter if a bit old and battered. Alas, I shall have to content myself with the newly released official PDFs, which at least are good quality scans, unlike the last time. I guess that I will try to get them all and have them printed, maybe in three or four bound volumes. It would not be cheap, but still affordable.

As for buying originals, I think I got my chance, and blew it. Fortunately, I had already bought (not cheap, mind you, but at a reasonable price) GAZ1: The Grand Duchy of Karameikos, which in many ways I regard as the best of the lot. If I managed to find a decent offer, I could not resist buying a copy of GAZ3: The Principalities of Glantri, which was my favourite back in the day. I will post about it someday. Suffice it to say that GAZ1 was a very sensible concept very well executed, and with a few subtle twists. GAZ3, on the other hand, was a pretty goofy concept, which is nonetheless executed so well that it works, in spite of its (too) many (some pretty silly) twists. I will come back to this as soon as I find the time to look at the PDFs more seriously.

One thought on ““You Can’t Always Get What You Want”

Leave a Reply

