Ubi Maior

[I am not posting very often lately, but now I hope to make up with a series of short and (hopefully?) to the point posts on stuff I have had in mind for a while.]

One of the nerdiest and most intriguing ideas I had for a post series was to take each time one descriptive aspect of traditional RPGs, e.g., ranged combat, learning spells, buying equipment, and compare its treatment in a bunch of big games, trying to figure out what the differences (if any) might amount to in actual play. The only problem I had with that was that it is a lot of work. Now I have a second problem: as far as combat is concerned I could never do better than Douglas Cole. His recent Violent Resolution series compares five disparate games (D&D 5e, Savage Worlds, Gumshoe, Fate Core, GURPS) under many different aspects of character generation, action resolution and playability. I am happy to leave it to him. On the other hand, I might still consider to attempt something like this for other (non-combat related) fields. Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

